Skip to main content

Library Tutorials: Library and Research Tutorials

This guide provides links to online videos and tutorials for do-it-yourself help conducting research, using library resources, and thinking critically about information.

Research Help

Live Chat (available during Luria Library open hours):

Phone: 805-730-4444

Email: reference@sbcc.edu

In Person: stop by the Library on the West Campus, or chat, call, or email for an appointment.

Library Technology Handouts

The guide below provides links to printable instructional handouts for using library technology, such as computers and software, printing, and wifi:

How do I?

Explore the videos, tutorials, websites, and documents listed below for do-it-yourself help conducting research, using library resources, and thinking critically about information (some of the videos and tutorials will prompt you to log in with your Pipeline username and password for off campus access).

Learn about the library, library website, and library catalog (books+)

 

Use the library website and know the library materials available

Use the library catalog (books+)

Use library technology including computers, printers, and wifi

 

Learn about the research process

 

Understand the elements of the research process

 

Learn about topics, keywords, research questions, and thesis statements

 

Choose a topic and narrow a topic

Identify keywords based on my topic

Do background research on my topic

Write a research question or thesis statement

 

Learn about information and information literacy

 

Define information literacy and understand why it matters

Distinguish between data, information, and knowledge

Understand different ways information is valued

 

Learn about different types of information sources, how they are created, and how to use them

 

Distinguish between different types of sources

Distinguish between primary and secondary research

Distinguish between primary, secondary, and tertiary sources

Understand peer review

Read scholarly materials

 

Learn about library databases

 

Choose and use the best database for information on my topic

Use a specific database

All EBSCOhost Databases

Most of the Luria Library's databases are on the EBSCOhost platform, including Academic Search Complete, Business Source Premier, CINAHL, Communication and Mass Media Complete, GreenFILE, History Reference Center, Military and Government Collection, PsychARTICLES, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, Science Full Text Select, and many others.

Business Source Premier

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Communication and Mass Media Complete
News Databases
Nexis Uni

 

Learn about search techniques and strategies

 

Use the best search strategies

Understand and improve my search results

 

Learn about evaluating information

 

Evaluate sources of information

Choose the best web source

Identify and critique misinformationdisinformation, and fake news.

Recognize bias

 

Learn about synthesizing information, writing research papers, and making presentations

 

Compile information from sources

Understanding the elements of a research paper

Get writing help

 

Learn about academic integrity, plagiarism, and copyright

 

Understand academic integrity and how to avoid plagiarism

Understand copyright

 

Learn about citing sources

 

Understand when and why to cite

Cite my sources

 

Learn about scholarly communication

 

Understand the scholarly communication process