Skip to main content

Library Resources and Services for Faculty: Library Collection

This guide provides information about Luria Library resources and services available to SBCC faculty.

Luria Library Collection

The library currently has over 121,000 print titles, over 60,000 ebooks, 210 print periodical subscriptions, and subscriptions to over 60 online databases providing access to 14,500 full-text periodicals. The library catalog (books+) allows searching for most of these resources simultaneously.

We constantly update the library collection by adding new materials and removing outdated materials. For details on the principles that guide this process, see the Collection Development Policy.

Suggesting a Title

The Luria Library collection is at its best when faculty actively participate in its development. We strongly encourage you to suggest a title online or contact Elizabeth Bowman to discuss the library's holdings in your discipline. 

Resources for Your Research

Library Databases

Many of the databases provided by the Luria Library offer alert services that automatically send email notifications for new citations or tables of contents that match a requester's interests. The names of the services (alert, autoalert, saved search) and the procedures for setting them up vary among vendors, but they generally operate in the same way. Ask a librarian if you have questions about an alert service.

Interlibrary Loan 

You may request up to 20 items per year from other libraries through interlibrary loan.

Google Scholar

You can set your Google Scholar Preferences to embed links to Luria Library resources into your Google Scholar search results. The Google Scholar Library Links page provides instructions on enabling this feature.

Linking to Library Resources

If you would like to link to a particular library database from your website or course page, follow the instructions for copying database permalinks. These links must be copied exactly, especially if you want to provide off-campus access to the resource. If you wish to link directly to an article or ebook in a database, follow the instructions for copying article permalinks. If you need any help or would like us to create the link for you, please don't hesitate to contact any librarian.

Luria Library Catalog (books+)

Search the library catalog (books+) for print and online books. Your search results will include articles as well; limit to books by choosing the appropriate box from the options to the left of your search results.

Advanced Search

Watch the video below for tips on searching for books in the Luria Library: